On the job hunt

Today is a job-hunting day. So why am I on WordPress? Well because you can’t tell me what to do! I need an outlet from the boring cover letters that I am being forced to rewrite over and over and over again.

I have applied for four jobs already, varying from retail to administration, a far cry from the profession I spent five years studying for. But I need to get an income before I can start being a bit more picky with my jobs.

I couldn’t quite figure out whether I should take off my qualifications on my resume, in the case where people read it and say, ‘Why on Earth is she going for this job then?’ It’s because I can’t get a job anywhere else people! Just hire me already! Come on, I’m good at pretending I’m happy, surely that’s enough to hire me. Also, according to the creepy old men I used to check in at the hotel, I have a nice smile. That has got to be a credit towards me surely.

Anyway, better get back to it. Anyone else in the same job-hunting boat? It’s the most mind-numbingly boring and stressful boat to be on.

6 thoughts on “On the job hunt

  1. Oooh, tricky. I never applied for a non-science job since getting my degree, so I’m not sure how to look qualified without looking *over*qualified. I was still in that “I can still be picky” time when I was on the job hunt, so I applied to only science stuff….albiet some were 3-4 hours away, and some I was still grossly overqualified for.

    Anyway, you probably SHOULD include your degree, just so the employer can verify where you spent a significant part of your life. Otherwise, it might look like a gap in your employment history? And I think it does prove a good bit about your character and intelligence, and perhaps they’ll take a chance on that even if you’re overqualified. But it may be prudent to omit some of your environmental research/science internships in favor of your customer-oriented job experience though. If it was me, I would probably just say “I went to college and got X degree, and I’ve worked as a waitress and a theater usher.” I wouldn’t bother including all the internships/research/science-y jobs I’ve done.

    The best course of action may be to pretend that you are in fact employed as a scientist somewhere else, but it’s either unpaid/volunteeer/part-time/something that requires you to get a second job. I think that’s a relatable situation which shows you’re using your degree, but you still have a desire/need for other work. Of course, if they ask for a phone number recommendation, that could backfire! πŸ˜›

    If you have any friends in retail or administration, I would try to go through them first. One of my my chemistry friends from college still picks up shifts at an italian restaurant, so I know that if I ever lost my job, I could probably elbow my way into there. And I’m not sure how feasible this is for you, but you may need to apply to a LOT more places. My batting average was about 1-interview-per-20-applications. That’s for science, of course, but it could be even more competative with retail/admin. It also may help to apply in person to some of these places, if possible. Retail and food service are about the only places you can do that anymore, but asking for a manager and meeting him face-to-face is often a huge leg up. That’s how I got my job as a waitress. In that case, you would have an opportunity to explain why you want the job before he even sees your work history. *nod* Cover letters can be helpful to explain that too, but I know it’s hard to frame “I’m honestly not passionate about fax machines, but I just need MONEY” in a positive light!

    Like

    • I still worked while I was studying so I could get away with taking my qualification off. I ended up just leaving it on though. It just seemed ridiculous to take AWAY qualifications in order to get a job. If they don’t like it then that’s fine. I say that now, but when my savings are gone I’ll probably be a little more desperate.

      Yeah, I took away a few of my volunteer experiences. No need to go over the top! Just left a few in to show character. I was thinking of saying I plan to do my masters – which I actually am – so that shows I’ll probably be working with them for the next two years at least while I study.

      Unfortunately all my friends now have jobs in nursing, HR etc, things you need qualifications for so that ship has sailed. The job I got at the hotel was through a friend which was awesome at the time. I’m not up for hospitality anymore though. I hate the stupid ‘so why do you want to work with us’ question. You’re a fast food shop, no one’s passionate about burgers!

      Like

      • Ugh, I know right. I think the only time I’ve ever been asked that question is when I was applying for minimum wage jobs. “I just love sandwiches sooooo much…..”

        Actually, going for the whole “I need a job while I’m in grad school” angle is not bad. It shows them that you might be a worthwhile investment, because you’ll both need the job and you’ll be with them for at least two years. *nod*

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s funny to read this as thats exactly what I’m doing at the moment, job hunting and I swear it’s so much harder than it was 5 years ago. Love your writing from what I’ve read so far and I will have to become number 101 unless someone else has already claimed that spot πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is much harder. I used to just walk into shops and leave with a job. Now I’m too old to do that! They all want either ten years experience or a junior. Thank you! You are number 102, a lucky number! I hope you keep enjoying my posts πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: I’ve got the shakes. | Kate Turville

Leave a Reply

