In my friend’s garden

I’ve been looking after my friend’s cat for the last few weeks and today when I came over I happened to spot this little guy in the garden.

Strike a pose!

Strike a pose!

Contrary to popular belief, we don’t tend to have too many echidnas chilling in our backyards in my neck of the woods so I spent some time with him, taking a few photos while he dug around for food and freaked out at every bird passing over.

Om nom nom ants.

Om nom nom ants.

On a sadder note, I also noticed a young pied currawong being swooped by noisy minors.  Usually I would just leave these guys alone because they can handle themselves, but this one had some issues going on with his legs and he couldn’t fly properly.  Turns out he had severely infected legs – so bad they looked like they had been dipped in concrete.  We had to say goodbye to that one.

By the by, this is a pied currawong. Taken by Leo, Flickr - click to be taken to original image

By the by, this is a pied currawong.
Taken by Leo, Flickr – click to be taken to original image

Meanwhile my friend’s cat received no attention so cracked the nanas and wouldn’t look at me when I left.  Sorry kitty!

2 thoughts on “In my friend’s garden

Leave a Reply

